notifications NOTICE: DeWitt Town Hall COVID-19 Protocols close-icon

A Message from Town Clerk Epolito:
The Town of DeWitt is conducting their marriage license applications in person only.

During the COVID-19 quarantine, the Town of DeWitt has developed protocols to address health and safety concerns for both the staff and marriage applicants.

If you are interested in obtaining your marriage license and would like make an appointment, please contact the DeWitt Town Clerk’s Office at 315-446-3910, ext. 2 or email at: clerk@townofdewitt.com.

We encourage all couples who have a preferred marriage date to wait until their wedding date is closer to obtain their license. There is a 24-hour waiting period after the license is issued.

The required documents are listed below. To assist in expediting the process this marriage worksheet can be filled out and the day of your appointment either faxed to (315)449-2065 or brought with you in person.

Thank you for your patience during this time.

Angela Epolito
DeWitt Town Clerk

The Town Clerk issues marriage licenses, by appointment, during regular business hours. Both parties must be present.  

Requirements: If neither the bride nor the groom has been married previously:

  • $40.00, payable in cash
  • The birth certificates of both parties, plus their driver’s licenses, passports, or other acceptable form of picture identification

If either the bride or the groom has been married previously:

  •  $40.00,
  • The birth certificates of both parties, plus their driver’s licenses, passports, or other acceptable form of picture identification
  • If the most recent marriage ended in death, a certified copy of the death certificate, or;
  • If the most recent marriage ended in divorce, a copy of the decree of divorce, stamped to show when and where it was filed
  • The dates and locations for the termination of all previous marriages.

There is a 24-hour waiting period after the license is issued during which time the marriage cannot take place. The license is valid for 60 days and may be used anywhere in New York State.

Couples who obtained their marriage license in DeWitt may purchase additional Transcripts of Marriage.
Requirements:

  • $10.00,
  • The individual requesting the transcript must be either the bride or groom
  • Valid picture identification

Name Change Options
As of December 20, 2020, New York State Domestic Relations Law changed to allow the parties to a marriage to change their middle name in addition to being able to change their surname when getting married. 

New York State Department of Health http://www.health.state.ny.us/nysdoh/vr/forms/marriage.htm

Sign Up for Alerts